29 C
New Delhi

Lotus in Hinduism


Share post:

Growth, purity, birth – some of the terms that one correctly hears when learning about the dharmic symbolic importance of the lotus.

Lotus Flower is one of the most popular symbols. It is believed that Bhagwan Brahma emerged from the navel of Bhagwan Vishnu sitting on a lotus. Goddess Saraswati, the Goddess of learning, is shown sitting on a lotus. Lotus flower is a symbol of eternity, plenty and good fortune and Goddess Lakshmi, the goddess of wealth, is usually depicted with a lotus flower. 

The symbolism of Lotus flower is mentioned in the 5th chapter of the Bhagavad Gita by Bhagwan Krishna:

“One who does all work as an offering to the Bhagwan, abandoning attachment to the results, is as untouched by sin (or Karmic reaction) as a lotus leaf is untouched by water”. (5.10). 

Thus Lotus is a symbol of purity and enlightenment amid ignorance (the smutty swamps in which it grows).

Lotus in spite of being in water never gets wet. It is not bothered about its surrounding but it blooms and performs its job and vanishes. The ultimate aim of living beings is to perform its karma without bothering about the external factors.

In Hinduism, Lotus represents the concept of primordial birth from the cosmic waters of creation. Bhagwan Brahma emerging from the navel of Bhagwan Vishnu symbolically represents that life begins in water.

Bhagwan Vishnu represents that force that is responsible for all living and non-living. It also symbolically suggests that all living and nonliving are connected to the ultimate source through an invisible thread but we, unfortunately, don’t realize it.

Lotus flower is frequently mentioned in the ancient Sanskrit Hindu scriptures, as Padma (pink lotus), Kamala (red lotus), Pundarika (white lotus) and Utpala (blue lotus). The earliest reference can be found in the Rg Veda.

Numerous gods and goddesses in Hindu pantheon are depicted as sitting on the lotus or carrying it.

The ultimate aim of each human being is to be the lotus flower – perform the Dharma without being attached to the world.

The lotus also represents the highest level of consciousness when in search of enlightenment and purity. In the postures of hatha yoga, padmasana (the lotus position) is assumed by those determined to reach for the ultimate highest level of consciousness which can be found in the lotus chakra at the top of the head.

The blue lotus signifies the superiority of spirit over knowledge wisdom and intelligence. 

The white lotus symbolizes a state of awakening or enlightenment, also known as Bodhi. This particular flower is also regarded as the womb of the world.

The purple one is depicted with eight petals which means truth.

The red lotus has strong connotations about the heart, therefore, it stands as a symbol of pure love and compassion. 

The pink lotus is the supreme lotus which is regarded as the true lotus .

Aadhyatm , compiled by Advait


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Why Rahul Gandhi is the most EVIL Politician in India?

There is a general perception that Rahul Gandhi is not a serious politician. It is being said that...

Congress’s Manifesto for General Elections 2024 – A horrible and dangerous document, which is like the “Vision 2047” document of terrorist organization PFI

Indian National Congress, which is facing an uphill battle in the Lok Sabha elections and struggling to win...

Intelligence Report claims that Modi Govt ordered targeted killings of Islamic Terrorists in Pakistan

Prime Minister Narendra Modi's office ordered the assassination of individuals in neighbouring Pakistan, Indian and Pakistani intelligence operatives...